Full Steam Ahead

It’s crunch time.

This week is shaping up to be a pretty crazy week. Maybe even crazier than finals. And I’m not going to lie, I’m terrified.

I’m photographing my first wedding this Saturday. All the preparation, all the time and energy I’ve spent learning and practicing being a better photographer will be put to the test in front of a paying client on Saturday. Not a lot of room for error. What makes it stressful is that this week leading up to the wedding is busy. Rehearsal Wednesday night, Social gathering Thursday, Friday is my “lets get all my equipment without having a nervous breakdown” day, all in addition to my full time job.

I am really excited for the challenge, don’t get me wrong. This is something that I’ve been working towards for a year now and I finally can get some expereince under my belt and build some contacts, but there’s that one little fear that seemingly tends to run my life. Fear of failure.

I know I’m a decent photographer, and I know my stuff but until you jump right into the task at hand, there’s no way of telling whether or not you’ll sink or swim (good thing I bought my dad water wings for fathers day….long story). I have played out tons of senarios in my mind of how the day could go, which probably isnt helping me stay calm about this whole thing. But there are a few things that are still wondering through my head. Them being:

  • That little button on the side of my camera I have yet to figure out. What the heck does it do??
  • What am I going to wear – Don’t make fun! It’s a valid question – When I go to weddings (as a guest) I go with a dress and cute but uncomfortable shoes. I’ve photographed in  dress and heels before but wondering if the wise choice might be to stick to pants and comfy shoes.
  • Will my second shooter/assistant pull through – this one is always a gamble. It’s the first time I’ve ever used someone else
  • How do I deal with a crazy drunk uncle or distant cousin if they try to photo bomb every picture
  • Can I be organized enough to know where and when to shoot and how to direct my assistant
  • Will the clients love the photos in the end
  • and lastly, will I in fact have a nervous breakdown the night before.

Bottom line is I’m equal parts excited and terrified. The postive thing about all this is gaining the expereince, whether I do well or not, I will have done it. That’s all I can really ask for. The first time you do anything is always going be terrifying just because you don’t know the end result.

Through it all I’m learning a lot. Not only just about Photography, but business as well. I studied Business for three years and it’s one thing to learn and study it all, and it’s another to put it into practice which is what I’m trying to do. How to carry myself and turn my name into a brand essentially. How to negotiate with clients and sell myself to potential ones. How to deal with assistants and second shooters.

On a less stressful note. A few days after the wedding, after I’ve settled down from the adrenaline i’ll be running on. I will be going over to Salt spring Island again the youth kids to photograph the trip. It’s something I try to make time to do every year and I love going. I wasn’t exaggerating that it was going to be a crazy week but i’ve heard you are at your most creative state when you are stressed.

A wonderful lady that attends my church always used to say to me “Hang in there baby” when I would tell her any stressful situation. I’m hanging in there baby.

Leave a Reply

