It’s hard not to be romantic

Over the weekend my dad and I huddled around my computer (don’t ask) and watched Moneyball for the first time. I put off seeing it since the wounds from my statistics classes were still fresh, and I’m not really a baseball fan to be honest with you. Turns out you don’t have to be. What I loved about the movie was Brad Pitt’s character and his relationship with the sport of baseball. Repeatedly  he comments about his love for the game. Sometimes, you question whether or not he still did love the game. But at the end he says the line solidifying his feelings after watching a play, “How can you not be romantic about baseball.” that spoke pretty loudly for me today. Like I said you don’t have to be a baseball fan to love the movie, and you also don’t have to be speaking about baseball when quoting that line. I’ve been lucky enough to catch a few Canucks games,  and this season really develop my love for the game through my love of photography. I’ve always loved sports photography, but my experience was football. This year with being able to go to games, I’ve been able to snap some pretty great photos in my opinion and I think “how can you not be romantic about hockey.” It’s an ironic statement, some may think there’s nothing romantic about a sport as fast and as rough as hockey, but its the determination and focus written on the players faces that inspire me. And because of that,  I can’t help but find beauty in the sport.

Leave a Reply

