It’s a Hockey Night in Vancouver

Not that I don’t love Shorty, Murph, and John Garret but really once you hear Mike Lang and his Langisms, there really is no comparison….example; “That was a million dollar move, but Fluery had two million in his pocket!” or my personal favourite, “Get that dog off my lawn!” Really, I thought he was senile when I first listened to a Penguins game.

I have never been a fan of Monday’s. Even though, for the last 2 and a half years, I’ve never worked on Monday’s but that still didn’t stop my dislike of the particular day of the week. Since starting Monday to Friday at my day job I have come to grow into a cordial liking with the day. Yesterday made me like the day even more. Last time I told you all that I was working on a “biography” for a photographer profile on SevenbyFive.net ‘s website and yesterday I got an email from them saying they were going to use my profile at the end of February. I’d say that’s a good start to the day. So for those who are a bit confused let me explain. The biography that I wrote, explains how I got into photography, my influences, what my focus is, and my journey so far. In addition to the biography, I will have two pieces that describe my style and all my links that point to the site, the blog , and twitter. SevenbyFive will post it on their site, post it to Twitter, all for it’s 27,000 followers. It’s pretty exciting to know that the one or two people that have seen my stuff read my random ramblings will turn into hundreds(I can’t think about 27,000 followers reading my profile, or else I might have a nervous breakdown). I guess I should start thinking of more interesting topics to talk about…..oh boy. The profile is slated to come out on the 29th. I’m extremly excited, and scared stiff at the same time.

Adding to my happy Monday was getting tickets to the Canucks game against the Chicago Blackhawks. It’s funny, I don’t go to a lot of Canucks games, it’s usually when I have been given free tickets and that’s only happened maybe two or three times in my life. But the funny thing is the last three games I’ve been two (over the last three or four years) have all been Vancouver vs Chicago games. I find it funny because I went to high school with Brent Seabrook. Then again, last Monday (see monday’s are getting good) I went to the women’s soccer game at BC place and ended up meeting Chris Higgins, David Booth, and Dale Weise and we chatted with each of them for a while (my friends dad was a champ and chatted them up about everything hockey).

Tonight should be fun. I love hockey, and I love being at a game even more. Thanks to a season ticket holder my friend Sheena and I are sitting behind the goal at a pretty close view. I’m going to try and take my camera in to see what it’s like taking hockey photos. I’ll post em tomorrow maybe (that is if I don’t get my camera confiscated….wish me luck). What I’m also excited to see is the return of Morrison, whether he’s in a Blackhawks jersey or not, the guy is a great hockey player.

Leave a Reply

